Update on the Newly Passed California and Federal Tenant Protections

On September 17, the City of Fresno hosted a virtual community forum on tenants’ rights. CCLS housing attorneys Nikki Love and Brandi Snow presented, along with California State Assembly Member Dr. Joaquin Arambula and Fresno City Council President District 3 Miguel Arias.

Video Presentation

Tenant Protections Under AB3088 and CDC (002)

Virtual Clinic Video Presentation

Protections for Tenants Facing COVID-19 Hardships

English

#KNOWYOURRIGHTS
Eviction protections for non-payment of rent due to COVID-19
Assembly Bill 3088 created a new law that can protect tenants from eviction if they are facing financial hardship due to COVID. If you or people you know are at risk of eviction and you want tolearn more, join one of our ONLINE workshops on Zoom or Facebook Live!

Spanish

#CONOSCASUSDERECHOS
Protecciones contradesalojos por no pagar la renta por COVID-19.
El bill de la Asamblea 3088 creó una nueva ley que puede proteger a los inquilinos del desalojo si enfrentan dificultades financieras debido a COVID. Si usted o las personas que conoce están en riesgo de desalojo y desean obtener más información, ¡únase a uno de nuestros talleres EN LÍNEA en Zoom o Facebook Live!

Protections-for-Tenants-facing-COVID-19-Hardships

Tenant Protection Update

Evictions

For as long as the state of emergency is in effect, your landlord cannot obtain an order from the court for your eviction unless the reason for the eviction is to protect the public health and safety. For example, you may be evicted if your landlord can prove that you are selling drugs from your rental unit.

Rent Payments

You are responsible for paying your rent during the state of emergency.  However, you may be able to defer payment if you do the following: 

  • Provide your landlord with written notice that you are unable to pay rent because you have lost income or you are experiencing increased expenses as a result of COVID-19 or the state of emergency.This should be done every month that you are unable to pay.   
  • Provide your landlord with some form of documentation that shows the reason for your loss of income or increased expenses is related to COVID-19 or the state of emergency.    
  • Keep records to show that you notified your landlord and that you provided documentation to prove the reason for non-payment. You may need these records if your landlord goes to court to try to evict you after the state of emergency is lifted.

Rent Increases

For as long as the state of emergency is in effect, it is a crime to do any of the following: 

  • Increase motel or hotel rates by more than 10%
  • Increase residential housing rent by more than 10%
  • Increase mobile home space rent by more than 10%
  • Evict a residential tenant and rent or offer to rent to another for greater than 10% more than the evicted tenant was charged for rent.

The penalty for these offenses is up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $10,000.

Illegal Evictions

Even without the state of emergency, your landlord must obtain a court order to evict you from your rental unit.  You are entitled to peaceful possession until the court awards your landlord possession.

It is unlawful for your landlord to do any of the following to get you to leave:

  • Change your locks
  • Turn off your utilities
  • Lie to you or to the police about your right to possession of your rental unit
  • Harass or threaten to harm you or your family
  • Enter your rental unit without your permission
  • Threaten to report your immigration status or the status of another occupant, family member or friend

The civil penalty for each violation is up to $2,000.   

Call the police or the sheriff for help getting in if your landlord changes your locks.  Or, you can call a locksmith to change the locks so that you can get in.

If you suspect that your landlord might attempt to evict you unlawfully, carry proof that you live at the address of your rental unit so that you can show the police, sheriff or locksmith that you are entitled to possession. Ideally, you have a written lease to prove your right to possession, but you could show any document addressed to you at the address of your rental unit, including a utility bill, phone bill or credit card bill.

Call CCLS

If you are low income and have questions or need help with a housing issue, call 1-800 675-8001.  You may be entitled to free legal services.

TenantProtectionUpdateBlog

 

Actulizacion de Proteccion de Inquilinos

Desalojos 

Mientras el estado de emergencia esté vigente, su arrendador no puede obtener una orden del tribunal para su desalojo a menos que el motivo del desalojo sea proteger la salud y la seguridad públicasPor ejemplo, puede ser desalojado si su arrendador puede demostrar que está vendiendo drogas ilegales de su unidad de alquiler.  

Pago de Renta

Usted es responsable de pagar su renta durante el estado de emergencia. Sin embargo, puede aplazar el pago si hace lo siguiente: 

  • Proporcionar al arrendador un aviso por escrito de que no puede pagar el alquiler porque ha perdido ingresos o está experimentando un aumento de los gastos como resultado de COVID 19 o el estado de emergencia. Esto debe hacerse todos los meses que no pueda pagar.
  • Proporcione al arrendador algún tipo de documentación que muestre que el motivo de su pérdida de ingresos o aumento de gastos está relacionado con COVID-19 o el estado de emergencia.
  • Mantenga registros para demostrar que notificó a su arrendador y que proporcionó documentación para probar el motivo del incumplimiento. Es posible que necesite estos registros si su arrendador va a la corte para tratar de desalojarlo después de que se levante el estado de emergencia.

Alquiler Aumenta

Mientras el estado de emergencia esté vigente, es un delito hacer lo siguiente: 

  • Aumentar las tarifas de motel u hotel en más del 10%
  • Incrementar el alquiler de viviendas residenciales en más del 10%
  • Aumentar el alquiler del espacio para casas móviles en más del 10%
  • Desalojar a un inquilino residencial y alquilar u ofrecer alquilar a otro por más del 10% más de lo que se le cobró al inquilino desalojado.

La multa por estos delitos es de hasta 1 año en prisión y una multa de hasta $10,000. 

Desalojo Ilegal 

Incluso sin el estado de emergenciasu arrendador debe obtener una orden judicial para desalojarlo de su unidad de alquiler. Usted tiene derecho a la posesión pacífica hasta que el tribunal otorgue la posesión de su arrendador. 

Es ilegal que el arrendador haga lo siguiente para que se vaya:

  • Cambie las cerraduras
  • Apague sus utilidades
  • Le miente a usted o a la policía sobre su derecho de posesión de su unidad de alquiler
  • Acosar o amenazar con dañarlo a usted o su familia.
  • Ingrese su unidad de alquiler sin su permiso
  • Amenazar con informar su estado migratorio o el estado de otro ocupante, familiar o amigo

La multa civil por cada violación es de hasta $2,000. 

Llame a la policía o al sheriff para que le ayuden a entrar si el propietario le cambia las cerraduras. O bien, puede llamar a un cerrajero para cambiar las cerraduras y poder ingresar.

Si sospecha que su arrendador podría intentar desalojarlo ilegalmente, lleve una prueba de que vive en la dirección de su unidad de alquiler para que pueda mostrarle a la policía, al sheriff o al cerrajero que tiene derecho a la posesión. Idealmente, usted tiene un contrato de arrendamiento por escrito para demostrar su derecho de posesión, pero podría mostrar cualquier documento dirigido a usted a la dirección de su unidad de alquiler, incluyendo una factura de servicios públicos, factura telefónica o factura de tarjeta de crédito.

Llamar a CCLS

Si tiene bajos ingresos y tiene preguntas o necesita ayuda con un problema de vivienda, llame al 1-800 675-8001. Puede tener derecho a servicios legales gratuitos.

CCLSTenantProtectionUpdate Flyer-Spanish-JUC

 

Protecciones de Alquiler En Espanol (Spanish Presentation)

Abogado de viviendas de CCLS Marcos Segura estará presentando información legal gratuito en español sobre lo último de las leyes de vivienda como resultado del COVID-19, y sus efectos con relación a los derechos de los inquilinos. Habrá oportunidad para preguntas y respuestas.

Virtual Clinic PowerPoint

COVID-19 Protecciones de Alguiler

Virtual Clinic Video Presentation

Virtual Clinic: Housing Law Update Regarding COVID-19

Watch CCLS Attorney Robert Cortez and Volunteer Attorney Douglas Gordon from Miles, Sears & Eanni break down the recent government and court orders in a simple and understandable way. They will focus on COVID-19 housing law changes that affect residential tenants.

Virtual Clinic PowerPoint

presentation_housing_covid_19

Virtual Clinic Video Presentation


Questions? Contact Andy Kucera at (559) 570-1236  |  akucera@centralcallegal.org

 

COVID-19 Tenant Protection

California courts have a new rule that your landlord cannot kick you out of your home (Evict You) in most situations during the COVID-19 crisis. Landlords can still give you an eviction notice and file evictions with the court. If you get something that looks like an eviction notice, seek legal help. The best way to protect yourself is to pay your rent on time if you are able to do so.

EnglishCOVID19CATenant Protection
SpanishCOVID19CATenantProtections

Disclaimer

Your use of this website, including posting comments will not create an attorney-client relationship. You should neither act nor refrain from acting based on information obtained from this site. None of the information contained on this site is privileged or confidential. The information contained on this site does not necessarily reflect the opinions of this firm or any of its lawyer, employees, or client. This information present on this website is based upon the law of the State of California.

Facebook Comments